Euro-Mediterranean Regional and Local Assembly (ARLEM)


It was set up in 2010 by the European Committee of the Regions (CoR) in collaboration with local associations active in this context, allowing elected representatives from the three shores of the Mediterranean to:

  • represent their local and regional authorities politically, including with the EU and the Union for the Mediterranean (UfM)
  • maintain political dialogue and
  • promote interregional cooperation

Which countries are concerned?

Egypt, Turkey, Algeria, Morocco, Syria (membership currently suspended), Tunisia, Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Israel, Jordan, Lebanon, Mauritania, Palestine, Monaco, Montenegro. In addition, Libya participates as an observer.​

What is ARLEM’s objective?

ARLEM aims to:

  • give a territorial dimension to the Union for the Mediterranean
  • promote local democracy, multi-level governance and decentralized cooperation around the three shores of the Mediterranean
  • encourage North-South and South-South dialogue between local and regional authorities
  • promote the exchange of good practice, technical knowledge and experience in areas for which local and regional authorities are responsible
  • promote regional integration and cohesion


How does ARLE​M work?

Politically, ARLEM offers a forum for permanent political dialogue. It contributes to the consultative work of the CoR through thematic reports. It also represents the local and regional level at UfM summits.

In its work, ARLEM creates synergies with its partners, including the UfM (Declaration of intent signed in 2013), the European LRA associations which are represented at ARLEM, the Congress of Local and Regional Authorities of Council of Europe (observer status), the UfM Parliamentary Assembly (observer status), the European Training Foundation (declaration of intent signed in 2013) and the European Economic and Social Committee ( observer status).
The Assembly brings together the members of ARLEM during its annual plenary sessionduring which the thematic reports are adopted, aand for Commission and Bureau meetings. In addition, specific workshops or conferences can be organized and specific aspects deepened through studies.

How is ARLEM composed?

ARLEM brings together 80 members and 2 observers from the EU and its Mediterranean partner countries. The members are representatives of regions and local authorities and hold a regional or local authority mandate.

ARLEM is chaired by a co-chairmanship equally representing the Mediterranean partners and the EU. The co-chairman of the group of Mediterranean partners is confirmed by consensus by this group for a period of two and a half years.

ARLEM desk defines the strategy and range of activities of the Assembly.
Within the Sustainable Territorial Development Commission, the ARLEM rapporteurs draw up thematic reports on subjects relating to the areas of:

  • decentralization
  • urban and territorial development
  • cultural cooperation
  • the information society
  • migration and integration
  • small and medium enterprises
  • Trade
  • Sustainable development
  • Water Management
  • Waste Management
  • energy, especially solar energy
  • transportation
  • agriculture and tourism
  • etc

About Eleanor Blackburn

Check Also

A trip to Perry shows why we need immigration reform

I went to Perry, Iowa (pop. 7,836) on Friday to help train a new reporter …